Primary Election 2022: Unofficial Results; Coin toss decides District 4 Magistrate race

Published 10:02 pm Tuesday, May 17, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Lincoln County unofficial primary election results are in. The wet vote passed in Hustonville with 50 yes to 38 no votes. Bob Jeffries and Joe Stanley tied for Magistrate of District 4.

A coin toss decided the race for District 4 Magistrate Wednesday morning.

At the close of the election, incumbent Joe Stanley and challenger Bob Jeffries were tied with 287 votes. Wednesday morning, both candidates reported to the Lincoln County Clerk’s Office for a tie-breaking coin toss.

Candidates for District 4 Magistrate, Bob Jeffries, left, and incumbent Joe Stanley, middle, listen as Lincoln County Clerk Sonny Spoonamore explain the rules of the coin toss. Photo by Abigail Roberts

Email newsletter signup

County Clerk Sonny Spoonamore gave Stanley the option to choose “heads” or “tails,” since he was the incumbent, and he chose heads.

Stanley won the coin toss and will keep his seat as Magistrate of District 4.

Spoonamore also recounted the voter rolls in the race for Magistrate of District 3, since there were only four votes separating candidates Shelby Lakes and Kevin Carrier.

Carrier won the race with 112 votes to Lake’s 108 votes.

Spoonamore said the results are unofficial until certified by the state, but it is not likely they will change.

“Mail ballots had to be in our possession by 6 p.m. on election night,” Spoonamore said.

There were 499 early votes cast in this year’s Primary and 85 absentee ballots as of Tuesday night. Lincoln County Voters were able to vote at any of eight voting centers.

There were 1,052 votes cast at the Stanford Baptist Christian Life Center; 207 at Hustonville Elementary; 370 at New Hope Baptist Church; 176 at the Geneva Fire Station; 449 at Waynesburg Elementary; 406 at Crab Orchard Elementary; 259 at Highland Elementary; and 166 at the Broughtontown Community Center.

Lincoln County Clerk Sonny Spoonamore and Deputy Clerk Cheyenne Rogers review the unofficial results of the 2022 Primary Election. Photo by Abigail Roberts

Judge Executive:

J. Woods Adams III – 1,593

Scott Maples – 553

Jeff Ruckel- 378

Jerry Shelton- 296


D. Shawn Hines – 1,254

Tyler Chase Marcum- 563

Robert G. Oney – 542

Bobby Amon – 448


Griffin Harness- 1,849

Stephanie Sue Newton- 804

District 1 Magistrate:

David Faulkner – 385

Chris Hazlett – 242

District 2 Magistrate:

Dan Gutenson – 339

Terry Pettit  – 214

Zack New – 178

Andy Withrow  – 46

Barry K. Hopkins – 44

District 3 Magistrate:

Kevin G. Carrier – 112

Shelby Lakes  – 108

District 4 Magistrate: TIED

Bob Jeffries- 287

Joe Stanley – 287

Gary Brummett  – 70

Hustonville wet vote:

YES – 50

NO -38

U.S. Senator – Republican:

Rand Paul – 2,402

Arnold Blankenship – 90

Valerie “Dr. Val” Fredrick – 89

Paul V. Hamilton – 65

John Schiess – 58

Tami L. Stainfield – 56

U.S. Senator – Democrat:

Charles Booker – 469

Joshua Wesley Blanton Sr. – 177

John Merrill – 88

Ruth Gao – 53

U.S. Representative 5th Congressional District:

Harold “Hal” Rogers – 2,358

Gerardo Serrano – 122

Jeannette Andrews – 118

Brandon Russell Monhollen – 101

Rich Van Dam – 62