Primary election early excused voting begins

Published 8:00 pm Thursday, May 9, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Lincoln County residents have already started casting their ballots as early excused-voting began yesterday. 

The Lincoln County Clerk’s Office opened its doors to early excused voters Wednesday, May 8. 

Aside from requesting a mail-in absentee ballot, there are three ways for Kentucky voters to cast their ballot for the 2024 Primary election: 

  • Excused in-person absentee voting before election day – May 8, 9, 10 and May 13, 14, 15
  • In-person no-excuse absentee voting before election day – May 16 through May 18
  • In-person on Election Day – May 21

Email newsletter signup

To cast a ballot during the excused in-person absentee period voters must meet one of the following requirements: 

  • military or overseas voters who are residents of Kentucky and service members who will be out of the country or confined to military base on election day and during days of no-excuse in-person voting
  • student who temporarily resides outside of the county of his/her residence
  • voter who temporarily resides outside of the state but is still eligible to vote in the state
  • voter or voter’s spouse who is scheduled to have surgery during the voting period
  • voter who is in the last trimester of pregnancy 
  • voter who cannot appear during election day due to age, disability or illness
  • voter who is employed in a profession that is scheduled to work during the entire voting period
  • election officers who are administering the election. 

The 2024 Primary election ballot in Lincoln County includes Republican and Democratic candidates for the President of the United States, United States Representative in the 5th Congressional District and Lincoln County Circuit Clerk. 

The Republicans on the Primary ballot for U.S. President include Ryan L. Binkley; Vivek Ramaswamy; Ron Desantis; Donald J. Trump; Chris Christie; and Nikki R. Haley. 

The Democrats on the Primary ballot  for U.S. President include Joseph R. Biden Jr.; Marianne Williamson; and Dean Phillips. 

The Republicans appearing on the Primary ballot for 5th Congressional District include Dana Edwards; Hal Rogers; Brandon Monhollen and David E. Kraftchak Jr.

The Republicans appearing on the ballot for Lincoln County Circuit Clerk are Dwight B. Hopkins and Angelia Renee Doolin.