Mullins, Marcum receive KOHS awards

Published 9:00 am Tuesday, December 24, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

LEXINGTON — More than 200 law enforcement officers from 175 agencies across the Commonwealth were honored by the Kentucky Office of Highway Safety (KOHS) for their efforts to target impaired drivers.

The 2019 Governor’s Impaired Driving Enforcement Awards ceremony was held at the Hyatt Regency in downtown Lexington, with plaques presented to the officers with the most impaired-driving arrests in each agency.

Among the 200 law enforcement officers recognized at the awards ceremony were Lincoln County’s own Michael Mullins Jr. and Chase Marcum.

Email newsletter signup

Mullins, a deputy in the Lincoln County Sheriff’s Office, received his DUI Award in Division 1, agencies with one to 10 officers.

Marcum, an officer with the Stanford Police Department, was recognized as a DUI Award Division 2 winner, agencies with 11 to 25 officers.

There were six divisions recognized by the KOHS, broken down by number of officers within the agency, and a division for the Kentucky State Police and Department of Fish and Wildlife.

All winners received a plaque, while the top three winners from each division were presented with the Highway Safety All-Star Award.

The top three in each division were:

Division 1 (1-10 officers) – 1st Patrolman Eric Thomas, Burnside Police Department; 2nd Deputy Sheriff Bobby Estes, Clark County Sheriff’s Office; 3rd Patrolman Demetrius Lindsey, Simpsonville Police Department.

Division 2 (11-25 officers) – 1st K9 Deputy Justin Szymchack, Floyd County Sheriff’s Office; 2nd Patrolman Aaron Arnsperger, Fort Wright Police Department; 3rd Deputy Brett Ritchie, Greenup County Sheriff’s Office.

Division 3 (26-50 officers) – 1st Corporal Jeremy Renfrow, McCracken County Sheriff’s Office; 2nd Officer Nick Taylor, Somerset Police Department; 3rd Deputy Chris Greenfield, Marshall County Sheriff’s Office.

Division 4 (51-100 officers) – 1st Officer Christian Wilhite, Henderson Police Department; 2nd Officer Wes Kemp, Nicholasville Police Department; 3rd Officer Nick Pruitt, Elizabethtown Police Department.

Division 5 (More than 100 officers) – 1st Officer Michael Steele, Lexington Police Department; 2nd Master Police Officer Ed Pulley, Bowling Green Police Department; 3rd Specialist Douglas Ullrich, Covington Police Department.

Division 6 (state enforcement) – 1st Trooper Steve Walker, KSP Post 11; 2nd Trooper Bradley Couch, KSP Post 14; 3rd Trooper Mark Branham, KSP Post 09.