Bevin, Adkins get Lincoln’s vote in May primary

Published 10:30 am Thursday, May 23, 2019

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

STANFORD — Lincoln County voters followed with the state’s voters in seven of the nine races on the ballot in Tuesday’s primary election.

Gov. Matt Bevin and Rocky Adkins won the vote in Lincoln County over their opponents in the governor’s race, with Adkins’ victory one of the two local outcomes that did not match the state results.

Adkins won Lincoln County with 588 votes to 397 for Andy Beshear, 346 for Adam Edelen and 35 for Geoff Young. Statewide, however, it was Beshear winning the Democratic primary and setting up a November battle between him and Bevin. Beshear won with 149,438 votes. Adkins finished second with 125,970 votes, Edelen ran third with 110,159 and Young was fourth with 8,923.

Email newsletter signup

Bevin won Lincoln with 890 votes and statewide with 136,060. Robert Goforth, the closest challenger, finished with 731 votes in Lincoln. He had 101,343 statewide. William Woods was a distant third with 14,004 and Ike Lawrence had 8,447 votes. Woods had 63 votes in Lincoln County and Lawrence had 40.

The second vote where Lincoln and the state differed was the Democratic primary for auditor. Kelsey Hayes Coots got the nod in Lincoln with 488 votes compared to 350 for Sheri Donahue and 145 for Chris Tobe. But it was Donahue winning the primary to challenge incumbent Mike Harmon in the fall. She had 134,952 votes statewide. Coots had 95,685 and Tobe had 58,548.

Only the Repubican party had to pick a candidate in the attorney general race. Daniel Cameron won the vote locally and statewide and a chance to challenge incumbent Greg Stumbo in the general election. Cameron had 1,063 votes in Lincoln and 132,580 statewide. Schroder had 578 votes locally and 106,950 across the state.

It was the Democrats casting the sole votes for the office of treasurer and a challenger to incumbent Allison Ball. Michael Bowman won locally with 936 votes and won the primary with 207,501 votes. Josh Mers, who had 315 votes in Lincoln, finished with 105,100 votes statewide.

A total of 3,216 votes were cast in Lincoln County or 19.54 percent of the 16,455 registered voters. There were 1,739 Republican ballots cast and 1,477 Democratic ballots cast.

Results from other races, with local and statewide numbers, follows:

Secretary of State


Michael Adams – 886 (LC), 91,499 (KY).

Andrew English – 305 (LC), 60,844 (KY).

Stephen Knipper – 235 (LC), 40,296 (KY).

Carl Nett – 151 (LC), 29,378 (KY).


Jason Belcher – 257 (LC), 46,066 (KY).

Jason Griffith – 175 (LC), 45,888 (KY).

Heather French Henry – 915 (LC), 251,773 (KY).

Geoff Sebesta – 37 (LC), 11,544 (KY).

Agriculture Commissioner


Bill Polyniak – 295 (LC), 39,538 (KY).

Ryan Quarles – 1,323 (LC), 182,423 (KY).


Robert Conway – 919 (LC), 189,161 (KY).

Joe Trigg – 370 (LC), 124,104 (KY).