Lincoln Co. Farm Bureau honored at annual meeting

Published 4:03 pm Thursday, December 27, 2018

Local chapter receives 2 Gold Star Awards

LOUISVILLE — The Lincoln County Farm Bureau chapter was on the receiving end of two of the state’s top awards at the Kentucky Farm Bureau’s annual meeting in Louisville.

Kentucky Farm Bureau, with more than 473,000 member families statewide, is the state’s largest general farm organization. Approximately 2,000 members attended KFB’s 99th annual meeting to recognize this year’s individual and organizational achievements and adopt policy for 2019.

Email newsletter signup

The local chapter was awarded the 2018 Young Farmer Gold Star Award for Exellence. Lincoln County Farm Bureau President Josh Brown was on hand to receive the award.

The award honors a county’s Young Farmer Committee for its active participation in Farm Bureau leadership development programs, state competitions, and educational or promotional initiatives.

Making the presentation of the award were President Mark Haney, Kentucky Farm Bureau Federation Executive Vice President Drew Graham and Executive Vice President and CEO of Kentucky Farm Bureau Insurance John Sparrow.

The Lincoln County Farm Bureau chapter walked away with two Gold Star Awards, with its women’s program receiving the 2018 Women’s Gold Star Award for Excellence.

The award honors county Women’s Committees for active participation in leadership development programs, agricultural promotion, educational initiatives and numerous other aspects of support to the local Farm Bureau.

Thelma Blair of the Lincoln County Farm Bureau Women’s Committee, accepted the 2018 Gold Star Award for Excellence on behalf of the local chapter from Vicki Bryant, chair of the Kentucky Farm Bureau state Women’s Committee.