Local candidates file for nonpartisan races

Published 6:15 pm Tuesday, June 18, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The filing deadline for nonpartisan races on the November general election ballot has passed. 

The deadline was 4 p.m. Tuesday, June 4. Multiple local candidates filed for seats. 

There are four school board seats up in November including Districts 1, 3, 4 and 5. 

Email newsletter signup

In the District 1 race Tyler McGuffey was the sole candidate to file for the seat. He is currently serving as the District 1 school board member after being appointed to fill the vacancy until November. 

There were two filings for the District 3 seat including incumbent Jennifer Broadbent and Nehemiah Wilkinson. 

In the District 4 race there were two filings including incumbent Gloria Sneed and Lisa Gillem. 

Incumbent Etta Meek has filed to keep her District 5 school board seat and will face Phillip Coots in the November election. 

Hustonville City Council 

A total of nine people have filed for the six seats on the Hustonville City Council including the following: 

  • Alan Sims
  • Jimmy Evans
  • Gerald Norris Sr. 
  • Jimmy Lane
  • Richard Cooper
  • Jessie Hume
  • Donna Hendricks
  • Brent Stewart
  • Kimberly Ray 

Stanford City Council 

All six of the filings for Stanford City Council were submitted by incumbents including:

  • Eddie Carter
  • Jerry Wilkinson
  • Joe Tackett
  • Ronnie Deatherage
  • Jason Hignite
  • Bill Miracle

Crab Orchard City Commission

There are six people vying for the four seats on the Crab Orchard City Commission including: 

  • Mike Eldridge
  • Bill Dyehouse
  • Kenny Manuel
  • Mikael Ives
  • Anthony Shelton
  • Jerry Shelton

The election will be held Tuesday, Nov. 5. Lincoln County Clerk Nancy Jackson held a drawing on June 6 for ballot positions.