Eastern Kentucky churches eligible for FEMA assistance

Published 12:58 pm Tuesday, August 30, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...


Churches are among the nonprofit organizations that may be eligible for FEMA assistance to help pay for emergency protective measures, debris removal and restoration of facilities damaged by the Eastern Kentucky flooding last month.

The federal share for Public Assistance projects is not less than 75 percent of the eligible cost. The state of Kentucky determines how the non-federal share of the cost of a project (up to 25 percent) is split with the sub-recipients like local and county governments.

Email newsletter signup

To be eligible, facilities must:

• Have damage caused by July’s Eastern Kentucky flooding in the following counties: Breathitt, Clay, Cumberland, Floyd, Johnson, Knott, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Powell, Whitley and Wolfe.

• Provide a current ruling letter from the IRS granting tax exemption under Section 501 (c) (d) or (e) of the IRS Code of 1954, or through the Kentucky Secretary of State.

• Be owned or operated by a private nonprofit organization.

• Have either not received funding, or received insufficient funding, after applying for a U.S. Small Business Administration disaster loan.

Applicants in the affected areas whose facilities were damaged by July’s floods can apply for assistance through the state of Kentucky. For more information on submitting a Request for Public Assistance, applicants should contact KY Division of Emergency Management or email pa.help@KY-em.org.

County deadlines to submit a Request for Public Assistance are as follows:

• Aug. 28, 2022 – Breathitt, Clay, Floyd, Johnson, Knott, Leslie, Letcher, Magoffin, Martin, Owsley, Perry, Pike and Wolfe counties.

• Sept. 11, 2022 – Cumberland and Whitley counties.

• Sept. 18, 2022 – Lee, Lincoln and Powell counties.