Imfeld named 12th Region Player of the Year; Other honors presented to area players

Published 8:10 pm Sunday, February 20, 2022

Luke Imfeld of Boyle County has been chosen as the 2020 12th Region Boys Player of the Year by the Kentucky Association of Basketball Coaches.

Imfeld, a senior guard, is one of 19 finalists for Kentucky’s Mr. Basketball award. KABC players of the year from each region, which are selected in balloting of KABC member coaches, make up the list of finalists.

Imfeld finished the regular season as the region’s second-leading scorer with an average of 20.7 points per game. He is tied for eighth in the state in 3-point goals per game at 3.3, and he is shooting 41.4 percent (77 for 186) from 3-point range and 46.4 percent overall from the field.

Email newsletter signup

Jimmie McCulley of Garrard County was voted the KABC’s 12th Region Girls Coach of the Year.

McCulley led the Lady Lions to a 14-12 regular-season record and a third-place finish in the 45th District standings. He has a 39-37 record in three seasons at Garrard.

Caroline Oakes of Pulaski County is the 12th Region Girls Player of the Year, and John Fraley of Pulaski is the 12th Region Boys Coach of the Year.

Imfeld is among eight area players voted to the 2022 All-12th Region Team selected by the 12th Region Boys Basketball Coaches Association.

Additionally, nine area players were voted to the coaches association’s Academic All-12th Region Team.

12th Region Boys Basketball Coaches Association
All-12th Region Team
Tramane Alcorn, Lincoln County; Mason Burchett, Wayne County; Ethan Cooper, Garrard County; Jalen Dunn, Danville; Luke Imfeld, Boyle County; Andrew Jones, Southwestern; Cayden Lancaster, Pulaski County; Daniel Mullins, Rockcastle County; Montavin Quisenberry, Garrard County; Jaxon Smith, Lincoln County; Kyle Stephens, McCreary Central; Gavin Stevens, Pulaski County; Jakei Tarter, Boyle County; Zach Travis, Pulaski County; Daniel Waters, West Jessamine; Ethan Willoughby, Casey County

Coach of the Year
John Fraley, Pulaski County

Academic All-12th Region Team
Sam Baughman, Mercer County; John Boursaw, Burgin; Aaron Caton, Mercer County; Matthew Chasteen, Rockcastle County; Trent Conatser, McCreary Central; David Crubaugh, Somerset Christian; Trey Davis, McCreary Central; Renan Dobbs, Wayne County; Pierce Ducas, West Jessamine; Brayden Dunn, Mercer County; Gage Gregory, Wayne County; Drew Hopkins, Rockcastle County; Donovan Jackson, Casey County; Noah Loudermilk, McCreary Central; Carson McKinney, McCreary Central; Greyson Mitchell, Burgin; Braydon Moore, Somerset Christian; Daniel Mullins, Rockcastle County; Conner Padgett, Boyle County; Hogan Price, West Jessamine; Logan Purcell, Somerset; Turner Shouse, East Jessamine; Caleb Sloan, Pulaski County; Logan Stephens, Casey County; Zach Travis, Pulaski County; Hagan Webb, Boyle County