Local candidates file for public office

Published 2:17 pm Tuesday, February 15, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

STANFORD – The deadline to file for office in the 2022 election has passed and ballot positions have been chosen, according to the Lincoln County Clerk’s Office.

The 2022 Primary Election will be held on May 17.

Lincoln County will have 7 voting centers set up for in-person voting from 6 a.m. to 6 p.m.

Email newsletter signup

The voting centers will be set up at the following locations: Stanford Baptist’s Christian Life Center; New Hope Baptist Church in Moreland; Hustonville Elementary; Highland Elementary; Crab Orchard Elementary; Waynesburg Elementary; and Geneva Fire Station.

In a statement, the Clerk’s Office said all Lincoln County voters are welcome to cast their ballot at any location.

“The state has approved our plan to open voting centers up county-wide in order to make it easier for citizens to get out and vote,” the statement reads.

Mail-in absentee ballots will still be available by request.

Early in-person voting will also take place at the Lincoln County Clerk’s Office from Thursday, May 12 through Saturday, May 14 before the election.

Lincoln County will have a new sheriff after this year’s election as current Sheriff Curt Folger is not seeking reelection.

There are five people vying for the seat including D. Shawn Hines, Bobby Amon, Tyler Chase Marcum, Robert G. Oney and Michael Scott Carrier.

All five candidates are registered Republicans.

Lincoln County Judge-Executive Jim Adams is also hanging up his hat, leaving the seat open to five candidates. Those candidates include Scott Maples (R), J. Woods Adams III (R), Jerry Lee Shelton (R), Jeff Ruckel (R) and Heather Baldwin (D).

Lincoln County Attorney Daryl Day (R) is running unopposed to keep his seat, as is Lincoln County Coroner Farris Marcum (D) and Lincoln County Clerk George O. Spoonamore IV (D).

In the race for Lincoln County Circuit Clerk there are two candidates including Dwight Hopkins (R) and Angelia Doolin (D).

Mary Alford Adams (R) has challenged incumbent David Gambrel (D) for the office of Lincoln County Property Valuation Administrator.

Lincoln County will also elect a new jailer this year as Rob Wilson is not seeking reelection. There are three candidates running for jailer including Griffin Harness (R), Stephanie Sue Newton (R), and Darren Pike (D).

In the race for District 1 Magistrate, incumbent David Faulkner(R) aims to keep his seat as he faces challengers Chris Hazlett (R), and Bruce Edgington (D).

There are six candidates in the race for District 2 Magistrate including Barry K. Hopkins (R), Terry Pettit (R), Andy Withrow (R), Zachary New (R), and Danny Saylor (D).

The race for District 3 Magistrate has garnered four candidates including Bob Jeffries (R), Gary Brummett (R), incumbent Joseph D. Stanley (R) and Kenneth Shane Yocum (D).

No candidates have filed for Constable of District 1.

Mike Mullins (R), is the sole candidate in the race for District 2 Constable.

Incumbent Delbert Mitchell (R) is running unopposed for Constable of District 3.

There are two candidates who have filed for Constable of District 4 including Joseph Waylon Pendleton (R) and incumbent Eddie “Popcorn” Brown (D).

Hustonville residents will also be deciding whether to allow alcohol sales within city limits during the May Primary Election.