2022 Lincoln County DYW program is Saturday

Published 4:37 pm Tuesday, September 21, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Fourteen area senior girls will be vying for the title of 2022 Lincoln County Distinguished Young Woman this Saturday, Sept. 25, in the Stuart Underwood Auditorium of Lincoln County High School. These participants will be competing in the five categories of Judges’ Interview, Scholastic Achievement, Talent, Self-expression, and Fitness. Personal interview and scholastics both comprise 25% of each girl’s total score, talent represents 20%, and the remaining categories of self-expression and fitness are both 15% of that score.

The cash scholarships to be awarded during this year’s program add up to a grand total of $30,000, which is the largest amount that has ever been offered at any Lincoln County program. There will be five preliminary winners in the categories of talent, self-expression, and fitness, as well as overall winners in both interview and scholastics with four additional awards in these areas. Self-expression and fitness winners will receive $375 and talent winners will be awarded $450. The participant with the top interview score and the scholastic achievement winner will both earn $1000 and four $625 scholarships will be given to the remaining top scores in each of these categories. Three memorial scholarships will also be awarded during the program – the $600 Phyllis Cooley Spirit Award, the $600 Jennifer Baker “Be Your Best Self” Award, and the recently established $1000 Sheila Underwood “Character Counts” Award. The “Friends of Lincoln County DYW” Scholarship will provide five additional cash awards in the amounts of $600, $500, $400, $300, and $200.

Email newsletter signup

The winner of the 2022 title will receive a $4500 cash scholarship. First runner-up in the program will be awarded $3500; second runner-up will receive $2500, third runner-up $1500, and fourth runner-up $800.

In addition to the cash scholarships, there is $1,130,000 in college-offered scholarships available to participants in the Distinguished Young Women Program.

The 14 participants, parents’ names, and planned talents are:
• Tinsley Bastin, daughter of Jim and Amy Bastin, Gymnastics routine

• Caroline Blakeman, daughter of David and • Bridgett Blakeman, Piano

• Molly Boyle, daughter of Jeremy and Tracie Boyle, Vocal/Piano

• Elizabeth Brown, daughter of Amanda Smith and Brian and Sarah-Jane Fisher Brown, Vocal performance

• Haleigh Ellison, daughter of James Ellison and Regina Ellison, Monologue

• Mayci Godbey, daughter of Tim and Dayna Godbey, Piano

• Abby Lane, daughter of Darin and Diana Lane, Monologue

• Emma Lane, daughter of Jeffrey and Heather Lane, Sign Language

• Ally Lynn, daughter of Danny and Bridgette Lynn, Piano

• Melissa Pendleton, daughter of Waylon and Heather Pendleton, Monologue/Welding presentation

• Jayden Smith, daughter of Jason and Brittany Smith, Dance

• Anna Story, daughter of Don and Kristen Story, Dance presentation

• Bailey Story, daughter of Dan and Stacy Story, Speed painting

• Michaela Tracy, daughter of Amy Tracy and Michael Tracy, Piano

This year’s winner will succeed Lucy Singleton, the 2021 DYW of Lincoln County, and our local representative to the KY Distinguished Young Women Program held in January of 2021. The emcee for the evening will be Kristi Runyon Middleton, President of the Distinguished Young Women of KY Board of Directors. Program time is 6:30 p.m. this Saturday evening, and available tickets may be purchased by calling 606-365-9782.

Due to the mask mandate in place for all Lincoln County Schools, masks will be a requirement for all program attendees.
Founded in 1958, Distinguished Young Women is a free program that encourages participants to reach their full individual potential. Our mission is to empower young women by providing over $1 billion in scholarship opportunities each year, developing their self-confidence in a positive peer environment and participating in our Life Skills Workshops that prepare them for success after high school.