Unofficial Lincoln election numbers released; complete totals a week away

Published 10:26 pm Tuesday, June 23, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The primary election may be over, but it will be one week before official results are available.
With all in-person and early voting completed, Kentuckians will have to wait until all mail-in ballots have been received and counted to call the election official.
Mail-in ballots were required to be postmarked on Election Day, June 23, but can be received as late as Saturday, June 27. Official results are to be turned in to the Kentucky State Board of Elections on June 30 by 6 p.m., according to the state election calendar.
Although results are not official or complete with the mail-in ballots, totals as of the close of Tuesday’s voting are as follows:
U.S. Senate
Local candidate Mike Broiher brought a lot of attention to Democratic race for U.S. Senator. Broiher tallied the third highest total in that race of votes counted to this point, behind Amy McGrath (949 votes) and Charles Booker (473 votes). Broiher collected 380 votes. Others in the race included Andrew J. Maynard (40), Bennie J. Smith (39), Maggie Jo Hilliard (30), Mary Ann Tobin (24), Eric Rothmuller (11), John R. Sharpensteen (10), and Jimmy C. Ausbrooks (9).
On the Republican side of the U.S. Senate race, incumbent Mitch McConnell dominated the votes with 2,066. He was followed by Naren James (194), C. Wesley Morgan (101), Louis Grider (76), Kenneth Lowndes (23), Paul John Frangedakis (17), and Nicholas Alsager (9).

State Senator 15th Senatorial District
Rick Girdler, incumbent in the race for state senator in the 15th Senatorial District, totaled 1,795 votes, while Larry Sears Nichols collected 590.
United States Representative 5th Congressional District
Incumbent Harold “Hal” Rogers easily eclipsed challenger Gerardo Serrano. Rogers collected 2,301 votes, while Serrano netted just 223 of the votes counted thus far.

Circuit Judge 28th Judicial Circuit 1st Division
Daryl K. Day came away with 3,089 votes in the race for circuit judge in the 28th Judicial Circuit. Teresa Whitaker (754), Walter F. Maguire (295), Jerry J. Cox (256), and A.C. Donahue (171) rounded out the field.

Email newsletter signup

President of the United States
President Donald J. Trump picked up about 90% of the local Republican votes, with 2,348. The option of “uncommitted” received 208 votes locally.
On the Democratic side, Joseph R. Biden had the high vote total with 1,217. The “uncommitted” option had the next high total with 361 votes. The rest of the field included Bernie Sanders (172), Michael R. Bloomberg (46), Elizabeth Warren (34), Pete Buttigieg (33), Andrew Yang (29), Tulsi Gabbard (20), Amy Klobuchar (19), John K. Delaney (15), Tom Steyer (10), Michael Bennet (8), and Deval Patrick (5).