Deadline to apply for 2020 Rogers Explorers program is Feb. 7

Published 10:59 am Thursday, January 30, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Eighth-grade middle school students in Southern and Eastern Kentucky have until Feb. 7 to apply for The Center for Rural Development’s 2020 Rogers Explorers program.

Rogers Explorers is an intensive three-day, two-night summer youth program for rising high school freshmen that focuses on cultivating skills in leadership, technology, math, science, and community service.

The program is developed, coordinated, and supervised by The Center and presented in partnership with Eastern Kentucky University, Morehead State University, University of the Cumberlands, Lindsey Wilson College, University of Pikeville, Asbury University, and Union College.

Email newsletter signup

As Rogers Explorers, students will participate in practical college courses, fine-tune their leadership skills, and develop a network of friends and resources in Southern and Eastern Kentucky.

The Rogers Explorers application is live and available online at The deadline to apply is midnight on Friday, Feb. 7, 2020.

A total of 210 middle school students in Southern and Eastern Kentucky—30 students each at one of the seven host college campus sites—will be selected to attend this summer’s session of Rogers Explorers.

Camps have been scheduled for May 31-June 2, Eastern Kentucky University; June 3-5, Morehead State University; June 16-18, University of the Cumberlands; June 29-July 1, Lindsey Wilson College; July 8-10, University of Pikeville; July 12-14, Asbury University; and July 15-17, Union College.

For more information about Rogers Explorers, contact Allison Cross, youth programs coordinator and community liaison, at 606-677-6000 or email

Rogers Explorers is offered at no cost to students who live within The Center’s 45-county primary service area. This includes Adair, Bath, Bell, Boyd, Breathitt, Carter, Casey, Clay, Clinton, Cumberland, Elliott, Estill, Floyd, Garrard, Green, Harlan, Jackson, Jessamine, Johnson, Knott, Knox, Laurel, Lawrence, Lee, Leslie, Letcher, Lincoln, Magoffin, Martin, McCreary, Menifee, Metcalfe, Monroe, Morgan, Owsley, Perry, Pike, Pulaski, Rockcastle, Rowan, Russell, Taylor, Wayne, Whitley, and Wolfe counties.