It’s official: King named Miss Ky. Basketball candidate

Published 12:53 pm Thursday, February 14, 2019

The list of candidates up for the titles of 2019 Mr. and Miss Kentucky Basketball was released by the KHSAA Monday and Lincoln County’s Emma King was among the list of girls candidates.

King, a 5-11 senior guard, earned her spot on the list of Miss Kentucky Basketball candidates by being named the girls 12th Region Player of the Year.

King, who is averaging 18.2 points, eight rebounds, three assists and three steals per game this season, has 2,379 career points, making her Lincoln County’s all-time leading scorer (male and female). She also has 730+ career rebounds.

Email newsletter signup

Lincoln coach Cassandra McWhorter was named 12th Region Co-Coach of the Year along with Danville coach Judie Mason. McWhorter has led Lincoln to a 20-6 record so far this season. The Lady Admirals are 22-4.

The 45th District also claimed the top honors for the boys 12th Region Coach of the Year, with Danville’s Ed McKinney named as the recipient of the award. The Admirals are 23-4.

Carter Baughman, senior guard at Mercer County, was named the boys 12th Region Player of the Year. Baughman is averaging 21.3 points and 2.1 rebounds per game this season. He shoots 48 percent from the field and 79.9 percent from the foul line.

The final list of Mr. and Miss Kentucky Basketball candidates was narrowed down from all the nominated athletes to one candidate from each of Kentucky’s 16 regions. Some nominations did result in a tie, so that is why there are multiple candidates in the Region 9 girls and Region 11 boys.

The Mr. and Miss Kentucky Basketball candidates are:

Miss Kentucky Basketball

Region 1: Elizabeth Curtis – Murray

Region 2: Karlie Keeney– Webster County

Region 3: Kayla Young – Breckinridge County

Region 4: Sarah Sutton – Allen County – Scottsville

Region 5: Maddie Wood – Marion County

Region 6: Emma Ralph – Bullitt East

Region 7: Nila Blackford – DuPont Manual

Region 8: Jaclynn Ruble – Anderson Co.

Region 9: Zoie Barth – Highlands

Region 9: Lauren Schwartz – Ryle

Region 10: Madison Kellione – Harrison County

Region 11: Maaliya Owens – Scott County

Region 12: Emma King – Lincoln County

Region 13: Raegan Hubbard – North Laurel

Region 14: Jada Higgins – Knott County Central

Region 15: Anna Keeton – Paintsville

Region 16: Savannah Wheeler – Boyd County

Mr. Kentucky Basketball

Region 1: Conner Guthrie – Mayfield

Region 2: Dekeyvan “Kyky” Tandy – University Heights

Region 3: Kobe Poole – Breckinridge County

Region 4: Jackson Harlan – Clinton County

Region 5: Trevon Smith – Taylor County

Region 6: Blake Butler – Jeffersontown

Region 7: David Johnson – Trinity (Louisville)

Region 8: Dieonte Miles – Walton Verona

Region 9: Tahj Harding – Newport

Region 10: Dontaie Allen – Pendleton County

Region 11: Isaiah Cozart – Madison Central

Region 11: Michael Moreno – Scott County

Region 11: Kyle Rode – Lexington Christian Academy

Region 12: Carter Baughman – Mercer County

Region 13: JJ Ramey – South Laurel

Region 14: Noah Back – Perry County Central

Region 15: Brady Whitaker – Magoffin County

Region 16: Korbin Spencer – Elliott County