Trey Cummins named to boys all-state soccer team

Published 12:46 pm Friday, November 2, 2018

STANFORD — Soccer coach Lewis Cummins said at the end of the season that the 2018 soccer Patriots were “one of the best teams” that Lincoln had ever had.

That “one of the best” teams now has a member among the top boys soccer players in the state.

LCHS junior Trey Cummins was named to the second team for the Kentucky High School Soccer Coaches Association (KHSSCA) All-State squads, which were released earlier this week. He is the first Lincoln soccer player to receive an all-state honor.

Email newsletter signup

Twenty-two players from across the state were named to either the first or second team on either the East or West teams. The West teams included players from the 1st through 8th Region while the East teams included players from the 9th through 16th Regions.

Cummins was named to the KHSSCA East 2nd Team All-State. Cummins led Lincoln in scoring this season with 33 goals and he also had 14 assists. The LCHS junior managed to set a state record while racking up the goals and assists, moving to the top in the state record books for the most consecutive games played with one assist or one goal.

The soccer Patriots went 13-6-2 this season, finishing as 45th District runner-up and advancing to the 12th Region Tournament semifinals before being eliminated by eventual region champ Southwestern.

Cummins was named to both the 45th District and 12th Region All-Tournament teams.

The KHSSCA all-state team selections follow:

East 1st Team All-State

Alex Ford, Ft. Thomas Highlands; Mike Penrod, Ft. Thomas Highlands; Conner Harper, Pendleton Co.; Danny Hernandez, Montgomery Co.; Sota Ippongi, Henry Clay; Jace Burt, Lafayette; Brian Banahan, Lex. Catholic; Jackson Kim, Lex. Catholic; Eddy Andreade, Paul Laurence Dunbar; Pedro Jiminez, Paul Laurence Dunbar; Trey Cima, Corbin.

West 1st Team All-State

Ryan Roussel, Hopkinsville; Brandon McManus, Trinity; Isaiah Wynder, Lou. Collegiate; Jaxon Allard, McCracken Co.; Luke O’Hara, Oldham Co.; Max Wawrin, Henderson Co.; Case Cox, St. Xavier; Conner George, St. Xavier; Joey Gladys, Ballard; Anatoli Emina, South Warren; Brian Winkler, Daviess Co.

East 2nd Team All-State

James Spindley, Ryle; Nathan Deimling, Cov. Catholic; Reese Foster, Cov. Catholic; Porter Hedenbeg, Ft. Thomas Highlands; Charles Boone, Henry Clay; Wilson Hourigan, Lex. Catholic; Alec McAlister, Danville; Nathan Hazlett, Danville; Trey Cummins, Lincoln Co.; Lucas Labrillazo, West Jessamine; Matthew Rowan Co.

West 2nd Team All-State

Daniel Gardner, Marshall Co.; Jacob Smith, Calloway Co.; Zach Moore, Hopkinsville; Max Miller, Daviess Co.; Jacob Boling, Daviess Co.; Byamungu Amisi, Bowling Green; Cal LeDoux, Lou. Collegiate; Max Gordinier, St. Xavier; Hat’e Dieven, Butler; Jonathan Itongwa, South Warren; Nate Berry, Trinity.

East Honorable Mention All-State

Will Burnham, Ft. Thomas Highlands; Luke Schwietzer, Ft. Thomas Highlands; Daniel Shelton, Montgomery Co.; Ean King, Montgomery Co.; Mason Anderson, Montgomery Co.; Reed Miklavcic, Frankfort; Ty Matthews, Lafayette; Justin Puckett, Lafayette; Taco Nsimpasi, Lex. Christian; Jonathan Crosby, Model; Christopher Otieno, Model; Caleb Jackson, Boyle Co.; Ryan Henry, Boyle Co.; Evan Farley, Madison Southern; Briar Sanders, Danville; Aaron Bickelman, West Jessamine; Colin Miller, Southwestern; Neel Patel, Corbin; Tyler Maynard, Lawrence Co.; Ryan Mullen, Rowan Co.; Oliver Skuag, Boyd Co.; Cameron Wurth, Boyd Co.

West Honorable Mention All-State

Drew Pierce, Trinity; Rahim Shalash, Collins; Jate Longhurst, Oldham Co.; Kevin Pastor, McCracken Co.; Sam Cloutier, Henderson Co.; Zachary Mueller, Central Hardin; Tait Pritchard, Elizabethtown; Bryson Penn, Marshall Co.; Eldin Velic, South Warren; Wilondja Ramazani, Warren Central; Kaung Hein, Warren Central; Tyler Phoutharansy, North Hardin; Mirnes Alagic, Fairdale; Jack Fischer, Trinity; Dolan Dugan, St. Xavier; Elijah Wynder, Lou. Collegiate; Preston Thomas, Elizabethtown; Declan Sandifer, Daviess Co.; Anthony Cano, South Warren; Mason Rye, Hopkinsville; Clay Harlow, Ballard; Irakoza Chartier, Butler.

Brandon McManus of Trinity High School was named the Offensive Player of the Year and Isaiah Wynder of Louisville Collegiate was named the top defensive player. Ryan Lenahan of Trinity was named the Goalkeeper of the Year.

Nick Bokeno of Murray High School was recognized for most assists and Conner Harper of Pendleton County had the most goals. Team awards included most shutouts, an honor that was shared by Trinity, Ft. Thomas Highlands and Lafayette, and most goals, which went to Louisville Collegiate.

Coach of the Year awards were given in three categories – large public school, small public and private/parochial. The large public recipient was Manes Preptit of Bryan Station High School, Brent Beauman of Danville High School received the small public award and Chad Wozniak of Louisville Collegiate took the private/parochial coaching award.