Governor’s Cup: LCHS students headed to state

Published 10:50 am Thursday, March 8, 2018

Three Lincoln County High School students recently took part in the 12th Region Governor’s Cup competition and all three came away from the academic competition with medals and a chance to compete at the state level.

Sam Durham and Sierra Potts garnered second-place finishes in the assessment areas of Mathematics and Written Composition, respectively, and Jeremiah McFarland placed fourth in the Social Studies assessment to earn each a spot in the state Governor’s Cup Finals, which will be held March 17-19 at the Galt House in Louisville.

Potts finished tied for second with Mikaila Risser of Model Laboratory School. McFarland’s score of 37 in the Social Studies assessment was good enough for third place, but Michael Halcomb of Garrard County claimed third in a tiebreaker. 

Email newsletter signup

The top five students in the assessment areas of Mathematics, Science, Social Studies, Language Arts and Composition, plus any students tied for fifth, advance to state. The first- and second-place Quick Recall and Future Problem Solving teams also advance.

Seventeen different schools participated in the regional event. The top five teams were, in order of finish, Danville High School, Southwestern High School, North Laurel High School, Rockcastle High School and Model Laboratory School.

Danville won the Quick Recall event with North Laurel taking second place. Pulaski County will head to state in FPS as the school took first-place in the event. Model Laboratory placed second. 

Madison Central was presented with the Hume Sportsmanship Award.

The state-qualifying individuals are (*represents tiebreak winners):

1) Arjun Kanthawar, North Laurel
2) Sam Durham, Lincoln Co.   
3) *Will White, North Laurel   
3) Kevin Ramirez, Southwestern
5) Anas Gondal, Danville   

1) Carter Pryor, Madison Southern
2) Anas Gondal, Danville
3) Tyler Hall, Madison Central
4) Ben Herald, South Laurel 
5) Jonathan Cain, Rockcastle Co.

1) Jacob Patterson, Southwestern
2) Ryan Swinney, South Laurel
3)*Michael Holcomb, Garrard Co.
3) Jeremiah McFarland, Lincoln Co.
5) *Adrien Kuntz, Madison Southern
5) Katie Vance, Rockcastle Co.

1) *Tessa Pickle, Rockcastle Co.
2) Eli Gooch, Danville    
3) Benjamin Link, Danville   
4) Kyle McGlothlin, Madison Central 
5) Alison Pham, North Laurel

1) Sofie Farmer, Danville   
2) Aden Amburgey, Rockcastle Co.
3) *Maren Hoskins, South Laurel
4) Avanti Patel, Model Laboratory
5) Allison Pham, North Laurel 

1) Mikaela Risser, Model Laboratory
2) Sierra Potts, Lincoln Co.
3) Olyvia Neal, Southwestern
4) Jaelyn Young, Boyle Co.
5) Jerrica Flynn, Southwestern