Doolin wins Republican primary for Circuit Clerk

Published 6:45 pm Wednesday, May 22, 2024

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Lincoln County voters have chosen Angelia Doolin to serve as the Republican candidate for Lincoln County Circuit Clerk in the November general election.

Doolin, who worked in the Circuit Clerk’s Office for over 24 years, faced incumbent Dwight Hopkins in the May primary to win the Republican nomination.

Hopkins previously beat Doolin in the 2022 special election for the seat. In March of 2023 he was placed on paid administrative leave pending an investigation into his conduct as Circuit Clerk. An evidentiary hearing was held in February to determine if there was cause for his removal. The case awaits a final decision from the Kentucky Supreme Court.

Email newsletter signup

Doolin won 62.49 percent of Lincoln County’s primary votes Tuesday night with 1,181 total votes. Hopkins received 709 votes (37.51 percent).

She will run unopposed in November as there was no democratic candidate in the primary election.

“My family and I want to thank Lincoln County for electing me as the next Circuit Court Clerk,” Doolin said Wednesday morning. “The support I have been shown by neighbors, friends, family and the community has been nothing short of a blessing. I am grateful to have been given the opportunity to continue to fulfill my lifelong dream of being the Circuit Clerk. God has truly blessed me and I wouldn’t be anywhere without the support of my family and friends.”

The total voter turnout for Lincoln County was 12.7% with 2,355 total ballots cast.

Unofficial results for 2024 Primary in Lincoln County:

Lincoln County Circuit Clerk (Republican)

Angelia Renee Doolin – 1,181

Dwight Hopkins – 709

U.S. President (Republican)

Donald J. Trump – 1,686

Ryan L. Binkley – 4

Vivek Ramaswamy – 9

Ron Desantis- 50

Chris Christie – 11

Nikki R. Haley – 81

Uncommitted – 69

U.S President (Democrat)

Joseph R. Biden Jr.- 286

Marianne Williamson – 35

Dean Phillips – 37

Uncommitted – 124

U.S. Rep. 5th Congressional District (Republican)

Hal Rogers – 1,570

Dana Edwards – 144

Brandon Monhollen – 109

David E. Kraftchak Jr. – 52