2020 local election results unchanged as of Monday

Published 8:10 am Wednesday, November 11, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

No local reports of irregularities, fraud

With only a few changes to totals among a couple of races, the 2020 Election results for Lincoln County remained largely unchanged as of Monday this week.

While unofficial results were reported to the Secretary of State on Election night, final vote totals must be sent to the Secretary of State’s office by 6 p.m. on Nov. 10.

All absentee ballots had to be postmarked or turned in by Election Day and received by the county clerk by Nov. 6 in order for them to count.

Email newsletter signup

Lincoln County Clerk Sonny Spoonamore said he doesn’t expect the totals to change by much before the Nov. 10 deadline.

As of Monday, Nov. 9, only a few totals had changed and all of the winners reported last week remained in the lead.

Unlike several other states, which have seen multiple allegations of voter fraud, Spoonamore said there were no issues of fraud or irregularity to report in Lincoln County.
“Things went really well here,” he said.
Voter turn out was high for Lincoln County, he added, with a 58 percent turnout.

2020 Election Results
Below are the final vote tallies as of Monday, Nov. 9. Changes in totals from last week’s unofficial results are indicated with a “+” sign.
U.S. Presidential
Donald J. Trump – 8,489 (+5)
Joseph R. Biden – 2,254 (+7)
Jo Jorgensen – 129
Kanye West – 23
Brock Pierce – 18

U.S. Senate
Mitch McConnell – 7,820 (+6)
Amy McGrath – 2,521 (+6)
Brad Baron – 552

U.S. Representative (5th Congressional District)
Harold “Hal” Rogers – 8,829 (+6)
Matthew R. Best – 1,937 (+6)

Ky. State Representative (80th District)
David Meade – 9,227 (+7)
Meade was unopposed in this race.

Ky. State Senator (15th District)
Rick Girdler – 8,971 (+7)
Girdler was unopposed in this race.

Circuit Judge
(28th Judicial Circuit; 1st Division)
Teresa Whitaker – 6,282 (+4)
Walter F. McGuire – 2,215 (+3)

Board of Education (District 3)
Bruce Smith – 1,401
William Stafford – 829
There was no change in the totals of this race.

Board of Education (District 4)
Gloria Sneed – 1,013 (+2)
Sneed was unopposed in this race.

Board of Education (District 5)
Etta S. Meek – 770
Joe Bratcher – 572 (+1)

Crab Orchard City Commission
Jerry L. Shelton – 126
Ricky Spoonamore – 104
Kenny Manuel – 103
Bill Dyehouse – 101
Mike Eldridge – 91
Manuel, Dyehouse and Eldridge were the write in candidates who received the most votes. Only two candidates filed paperwork for seats on the city commission this year. There were no changes in these totals since Election Day.

Hustonville City Council
There were no changes in the results of the Hustonville City Council race as of Monday, Nov. 9.

Stanford Mayor
Dalton Miller – 1,044 (+1)
Peggy Hester – 472
Jamie Brandt Leigh – 67

Stanford City Council
Bill Miracle – 891 (+1)
Sara Givens – 865 (+1)
Ronald Deatherage – 862
Eddie Carter – 823
Paul Joe Tackett – 800
Naren James – 782
Jason C. Hignite – 779
The close race for the last seat on the Stanford City Council between Hignite and James remained tight and unchanged as of Monday. James remains ahead by three votes.

Constitutional Amendment 1 (Marsy’s Law)
Yes – 5,643 (+7)
No – 4,037 (+4)

Constitutional Amendment 2 (judicial term changes)
Yes – 3,068 (+4)
No – 6,669 (+7)

Alcohol sales in Stanford
Yes – 1,008 (+2)
No – 624