2018 ELECTION: Partisan deadline passes, primary elections set

Published 8:39 pm Thursday, February 1, 2018


STANFORD – A few more names were added to the list of candidates who will appear on the May primary election ballot before the window to file officially closed Tuesday.

Candidates had until 4 p.m. Tuesday to file for partisan races at the Lincoln County Clerk’s Office.

Email newsletter signup

The recent filings include: 

• Jimmie R. Sims, Independent, Magistrate District 3;

• Richard Rhodus, Republican, Lincoln County Sheriff;

• Jayme R. Phillips, Republican, Magistrate District 3;

• Jerry Lee Shelton, Republican, Lincoln County Judge-Executive;

• David Faulkner, Republican, Incumbent, Magistrate District 1;

• Jeff Ruckel, Republican, Magistrate District 3;

• Terry Pettit, Democrat, Magistrate District 2;

• Dennis W. Miller, Democrat, Magistrate District 1;

• Chris A. Hazlett, Republican, Constable District 1; and

• Dwight B. Hopkins, Republican, Circuit Court Clerk

Here’s a list of prior candidates who have already filed in local Lincoln County races:

County Clerk 

• George O. Sonny Spoonamore, Democrat, incumbent, Lincoln County Clerk

• William Gregory “Greg” Snow, Republican, Lincoln County Clerk


• Jim W. Adams, Democrat, incumbent, Lincoln County Judge Executive;

• Robert Todd, Republican, Lincoln County Judge Executive;

Jailer (unopposed) 

• Rob Wilson, Republican, incumbent, Lincoln County Jailer;


• Johnny Williams, Democrat, Lincoln County Sheriff;

• Curt Folger, Republican, incumbent, Lincoln County Sheriff;

• Tyler Chase Marcum, Republican, Lincoln County Sheriff;

County Attorney (unopposed)

• Daryl K. Day, Republican, incumbent, Lincoln County Attorney;

PVA (unopposed) 

• David Gambrel, Democrat, incumbent, Lincoln County Property Valuation Administrator;

Coroner (unopposed) 

• Farris Marcum, Democrat, incumbent, Lincoln County Coroner;


• Lonnie Pruitt, Republican, incumbent, Magistrate District 2.

• Johnnie Padgett, incumbent, Democrat, Magistrate District 3;

• Kendall B. Johnson, Republican, Magistrate District 3;

• Joe Stanley, incumbent, Republican, Magistrate District 4;

• David Tyler McGuffey, Democrat, Magistrate District 4;

• Tim Adams, Democrat, Lincoln County Magistrate District 4;


• Robert Adams, Republican, incumbent, Constable District 1;

• Jesse Harris, Republican, Incumbent, Constable District 2

• Delbert Mitchell, Democrat, incumbent, Constable District 3;

• Eddie “Popcorn” Brown, Democrat, Incumbent, Constable District 4;

Circuit Court Clerk 

• Teresa Reed, Democrat, incumbent, Lincoln County Circuit Clerk.

The primary election will be held May 22. The general election will be held Nov. 6.

Two candidates have filed for non-partisan seats: 

• Christopher J. Reed, non-partisan, Stanford Mayor.

• Eddie Carter, non-partisan, incumbent, Stanford Mayor

The deadline to file for non-partisan races will be in August.