Parsons inducted into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi

Published 9:00 am Thursday, December 22, 2016

Jeremy Parsons of Stanford was recently initiated into The Honor Society of Phi Kappa Phi, the nation’s oldest and most selective collegiate honor society for all academic disciplines. Parsons was initiated at Eastern Kentucky University.
Parsons is among approximately 30,000 students, faculty, professional staff and alumni to be initiated into Phi Kappa Phi each year. Membership is by invitation and requires nomination and approval by a chapter. Only the top 10 percent of seniors and 7.5 percent of juniors, having at least 72 semester hours, are eligible for membership.
Graduate students in the top 10 percent of the number of candidates for graduate degrees may also qualify, as do faculty, professional staff and alumni who have achieved scholarly distinction.
There were 52 EKU students among Phi Kappa Phi’s Fall 2016 inductees. They were:
Aminah A. Alkhaibari, Reid E. Buskirk, Shawn A. Castle, Benjamin Dantic, Kourtney Easterling, Patrick Elzinga, Courtney Hayes, Deanna L. Johnson, Holly E. Kay, Molly King, Melody Li, Lloyd A. Macy, Katherine Myong McManus, Anna Meurer, Masi A. Sanders, Elaheh Siahkouhi, Laken Tackett, Richmond; Emily N. Adkins, Jackie S. Cates, Jared Conner Niceley, Berea; Charles R. Pegram, Patrick W. Reynolds, Joshua E. Turpin, Pilar Walker, Lexington;
Robert Christopher Allen, McCordsville, Indiana; Calvin T. Andries, Lawrenceburg; Phelan D. Bailey, Morehead; Otis W. Broderick, Carlisle; Canique Brown, West Palm Beach, Florida; Lisa A. Burton, Castine, Maine; Hannah Costelle, Louisville; Lisa Davenport, Lubbock, Texas; William Frederick Duke Derdock, Winter Garden, Florida; Matthew D. Gregory, Tampa, Florida; Mario Gutierrez, El Paso, Texas; David E. Hynd, Edmond, Oklahoma; Malcolm Don Jacobs, Amherst, New York;
Allen S. Keener, Birmingham, Alabama; Randy King, Conroe, Texas; Ronald D. McCarty, Winchester; Ronald Moore, Jackson; Jeremy T. Parsons, Stanford; Nancy Kenna Powell, Charlotte, North Carolina; Anna M. Reeves, Clay City; Tyler Swafford, Franklin, Tennessee; Eula Kathryn Swann, King William, Virginia; Tristan Thomas Syck, Harold; Trenton N. Thompson, Chatham, Illinois; Jordan Wills, Brooksville; Katherine Wyant, Mt. Sterling; Nathaniel Young, Lawrenceburg; and Jeffrey K. Zotter, Southwick, Massachusetts.
Several EKU sophomores also received academic achievement certificates for completing more than 30 hours with a grade point average of 3.7 and above.
EKU faculty were also honored through recognitions and inductions into the University’s Phi Kappa Phi chapter. Inductees and honorees included the event’s keynote speaker, Dr. Erik Liddell, EKU Honors faculty fellow and associate professor of languages, cultures and humanities, and David Afsah-Mohallatee, EKU Foundation professor and professor of art and design.
Founded in 1897 at the University of Maine and headquartered in Baton Rouge, La., Phi Kappa Phi is the nation’s oldest and most selective all-discipline honor society. The Society has chapters on more than 300 college and university campuses in North America and the Philippines.

Email newsletter signup