14 vying for Distinguished Young Woman title

Published 5:12 pm Thursday, September 8, 2016

In just two days, Katie King’s reign as Lincoln County’s Distinguished Young Woman will come to an end, as she hands over her title to another deserving young woman.
The curtain goes up on the 2017 Distinguish Young Woman (DYW) Scholarship Program Saturday, Sept. 10, with 14 Lincoln County senior girls taking the stage of the Stuart Underwood Auditorium to compete for over $22,000 in cash scholarships. 
The 2017 DYW program, which begins at 6:30 p.m., caps off five weeks of intense practices, mock interviews, talent reviews and dress rehearsals.
The winner of the 2017 Lincoln County Distinguished Young Woman program will receive a $4,100 cash scholarship. The first runner-up will receive a $3,100 cash scholarship, second runner-up will receive a $2,100 cash scholarship, third runner-up will receive a $1,100 cash scholarship and fourth runner-up will receive a $525 cash scholarship.
Since scholastic achievement is what the DYW program is all about, high academic performance will be well rewarded. A $1,000 cash scholarship will be presented to the overall scholastic achievement winner and additional money will be awarded to four preliminary runners-up. Those four runners-up will each receive $450.
To earn the cash and college-offered scholarships available, the DYW candidates first have to be evaluated on the qualities and characteristics that make up the total young woman, with an emphasis on fitness (15%), talent (20%), self expression (15%) and interview (25%) as well as academics (25%).
Five winners will be chosen in each of the preliminary categories. The interview winners will each receive a $450 cash scholarship while talent winners each receive $335 scholarships. A cash scholarship of $275 will be presented to the overall winners in both the fitness and self-expression categories
A $500 Jennifer Baker Memorial “Be Your Best Self” Award and a $500 Phyllis Cooley Memorial Spirit Award will also be presented.
The  candidates  for  the  2017 Lincoln County Distinguished Young Woman are:
• Elizabeth Blaine.
• Madison Carnes
• Madison Cornett.
• Kayla Cox.
• Taylor Floyd.
• Logan Godbey.
• Jenna King.
• Auburn Mattingly.
• Taylor-Grace Mingo.
• Sydney Slone.
• Alex Southerland.
• Abby Sparkman.
• Emily Stanley.
• Izabella Walker.
DYW tickets are $10 and may be purchased in advance by calling 606-365-9782.
Individual DYW photos courtesy of Barbara Ann’s Photography.

Email newsletter signup